Roamly vs Optus roaming
What a trip really costs on each, for Australian travellers. Prices checked 19 September 2026.
Optus Daily Roaming is the most generous daily roaming deal of the three big Australian networks: $5 for 24 hours, and that $5 buys 5 GB of its own data plus unlimited standard talk and text. It's switched on by default, it costs the same in every Zone 1 destination, and for a short trip it's genuinely good value. We'd rather say that than pretend otherwise.
Two things are worth knowing before you rely on it. It charges for every day you use your phone, so a fortnight is $70 on top of your normal bill, against $14.30 to $26.40 for a Roamly 10 GB plan covering the same trip. And when the 5 GB runs out it doesn't slow down or stop: it automatically charges another $5 for another 5 GB, again and again, for as long as you keep using data.
What a trip costs
Optus charges by the day, so the longer you’re away the more it costs. A Roamly plan is one price for the whole trip. Here’s the same trip both ways.
| Destination | Roamly | Optus, 7 days | Optus, 14 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indonesia | $19.4510 GB, 30 days$50.55 less | $35.00$5.00 × 7 | $70.00$5.00 × 14 |
| Japan | $18.4510 GB, 30 days$51.55 less | $35.00$5.00 × 7 | $70.00$5.00 × 14 |
| Thailand | $14.3010 GB, 30 days$55.70 less | $35.00$5.00 × 7 | $70.00$5.00 × 14 |
| Vietnam | $21.3010 GB, 30 days$48.70 less | $35.00$5.00 × 7 | $70.00$5.00 × 14 |
| USA | $24.5010 GB, 30 days$45.50 less | $35.00$5.00 × 7 | $70.00$5.00 × 14 |
| New Zealand | $26.4010 GB, 30 days$43.60 less | $35.00$5.00 × 7 | $70.00$5.00 × 14 |
The saving shown is against a 14-day trip. Optus Daily Roaming includes 5 GB a day plus unlimited standard talk and text, which is more data than most travellers use. That's why this table uses our 10 GB plan. If you would genuinely use 5 GB every day, Optus gives you far more data for the money.
What you give up, and what you don't
The honest difference is calls and texts. Optus Daily Roaming keeps your number and SIM live, with unlimited standard talk and text included, so people ring you exactly as they would at home. A Roamly eSIM is data only: it gives you no number, and on its own it cannot make or take an ordinary call.
But you usually don't have to choose. Almost every phone sold in Australia in the last few years holds two SIMs at once, so you can leave your Optus SIM in for your number and run the Roamly eSIM alongside it for data. If you want to avoid the daily charge, switch roaming data off on the Optus line before you land, because Daily Roaming is on by default and starts the moment you use the service. Without a pass, Optus charges $1 per MB, $1.50 a minute for calls you make or receive, and 50c per text sent; receiving a text is free.
At a glance
What it costs
Roamly
One price for the whole plan, paid up front in AUD.
Optus
$5 per 24 hours, the same in every Zone 1 destination, charged on each day you use your phone.
Data
Roamly
3 GB to 50 GB for the whole plan, with no daily cap imposed by Roamly.
Optus
5 GB per 24 hours, which is the most generous of the three big networks. Unused data expires at the end of the day.
Running out
Roamly
Top up from My eSIMs when you choose to, without reinstalling.
Optus
Another $5 for another 5 GB is added automatically, and again after that, for as long as you keep using data.
Calls and texts
Roamly
Data only. Keep your Australian SIM in the phone for calls and texts.
Optus
Unlimited standard talk and text included on mobile phone plans.
Your number
Roamly
Unaffected. Your Australian SIM stays in the phone; only its roaming data needs to be off.
Optus
Keeps working, which is the whole point of the product.
Coverage
Roamly
100+ countries and territories.
Optus
150+ Zone 1 destinations, in Optus's own words. Outside Zone 1 there's no pass, only pay-as-you-go.
If you don't use a pass
Roamly
Not applicable. A plan is bought before you travel and cannot run over.
Optus
Pay as you go at $1 per MB, roughly $1,000 a gigabyte, plus $1.50 a minute for calls made or received.
Who can use it
Roamly
Anyone with an eSIM-capable, carrier-unlocked phone.
Optus
Postpaid customers on eligible plans. Others get the older $10 Roaming Pass, which is $10 a day for 1 GB. Prepaid has separate add-ons.
Hotspot
Roamly
Included on every plan, no restrictions.
Optus
Not stated on Optus's roaming pages, so we can't tell you either way.
How you pay
Roamly
Up front, by card, before you leave.
Optus
Charged to your Optus account as you go, including the automatic repeat charges.
| Feature | Roamly | Optus |
|---|---|---|
| What it costs | One price for the whole plan, paid up front in AUD. | $5 per 24 hours, the same in every Zone 1 destination, charged on each day you use your phone. |
| Data | 3 GB to 50 GB for the whole plan, with no daily cap imposed by Roamly. | 5 GB per 24 hours, which is the most generous of the three big networks. Unused data expires at the end of the day. |
| Running out | Top up from My eSIMs when you choose to, without reinstalling. | Another $5 for another 5 GB is added automatically, and again after that, for as long as you keep using data. |
| Calls and texts | Data only. Keep your Australian SIM in the phone for calls and texts. | Unlimited standard talk and text included on mobile phone plans. |
| Your number | Unaffected. Your Australian SIM stays in the phone; only its roaming data needs to be off. | Keeps working, which is the whole point of the product. |
| Coverage | 100+ countries and territories. | 150+ Zone 1 destinations, in Optus's own words. Outside Zone 1 there's no pass, only pay-as-you-go. |
| If you don't use a pass | Not applicable. A plan is bought before you travel and cannot run over. | Pay as you go at $1 per MB, roughly $1,000 a gigabyte, plus $1.50 a minute for calls made or received. |
| Who can use it | Anyone with an eSIM-capable, carrier-unlocked phone. | Postpaid customers on eligible plans. Others get the older $10 Roaming Pass, which is $10 a day for 1 GB. Prepaid has separate add-ons. |
| Hotspot | Included on every plan, no restrictions. | Not stated on Optus's roaming pages, so we can't tell you either way. |
| How you pay | Up front, by card, before you leave. | Charged to your Optus account as you go, including the automatic repeat charges. |
Where each one wins
Which should you pick?
A week or more away? Roamly. Seven days of Daily Roaming is $35 and a fortnight is $70; a 10 GB plan costs less than a week of passes and lasts a month.
A few days, and you want your number to just work? Optus. At $5 for 5 GB and unlimited talk and text, a short trip is genuinely good value and there's nothing to set up.
Worried about what you'll be charged? Roamly. Optus keeps adding $5 charges automatically as you use data, with no ceiling. A Roamly plan is paid for before you leave and can't run over.
On the older $10 Roaming Pass? Roamly, comfortably. $10 a day for 1 GB is ten times the price per gigabyte of Optus's current pass, and a fortnight of it costs $140.
Common questions
Roamly figures are from our own plan catalogue and policies. Optus figures were read from optus.com.au, its international roaming and rates pages and its plan Critical Information Summary on 19 September 2026, and checked a second time the same day. Roaming prices, inclusions and zones change, and what you pay depends on your own plan, so check with Optus before you travel. We re-check this page monthly. Spotted something out of date? Email hello@onroamly.com. Optus is a trademark of its owner. Roamly is not affiliated with Optus.
Compare something else